News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

DrumIt 5 Mk II - broken ride + rubber replacement

Started by E-Drummer, August 26, 2023, 07:58:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

E-Drummer

Good morning from Italy!

I've been using my Mk II Drumit 5 since 2012 flawlessly but today my ride cymbal has just died.

And here I guess you can see why:
https://ibb.co/KWmsGwT

Do you know where I can find a new one or if there's an alternative and cheaper compatible cymbal?

Beside that, I noticed that my right crash cymbal is having some triggering issues.
I removed the rubber - which is still perfect - and noticed there's no more glue so the rubber is only clinging to the lower indented part.
Could it be the reason for false triggering?

And finally: the rubber of my hi hat also opened at the edge, making it almost impossible to play.
Better replace the rubber - can it still be found on ddrum.ch? - or do you recommend replacing the entire hi-hat cymbal with a better performing model instead?

Thank you all! Drum on!

welshsteve

You often see these cymbals for sale separately on ebay. I would do a "save search" for 2box drumit 5 cymbals if there's none up at the moment, the second someone lists one, you'll get notified.

When I had a drumit5 kit, I had several failures which I repaired. Usually those prongs bend and touch the main plate leading to a constant choke sound. Just bending the prongs back so there's a space left fixed that.

I had the rubber split on the edge. Some people had theirs go all the way around with no effect to playability. Myself I just put some Gorilla tope on the split which held it until I needed to it again some time later (approx 6-12 months)

I can't tell from the photo, but it looks like the secondary plate is coming away from the neoprene, get some rubberised contact adhesive and reglue, that should fix it.