Author Topic: Additional cymbals  (Read 332 times)

Chaosinside777

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Additional cymbals
« on: July 28, 2022, 03:22:25 PM »
Hi there,
I'm Andy from Austria and my drummer (who is not really into gear at all) has recently bought a 2box Drumit5 Mk2 module, which he is using with Jobeky Snare/Tom Triggers and Roland VH-13 Hihat and a few other Roland cymbal pads.

The module does a great job, but we would love to include a second (closed) Hihat to the setup.
Kick, Snare, Hihat, Tom1,Tom2,Tom3    Inputs are in use
Crash1 is already using the Tom4 Input
Crash2 is Cymbal1
Ride     is Cymbal2
China   is Cymbal3

I have read in the manual, that it is possible to increase the amount of pads with the "more" button, if you turn (we won't do that with the snare) the stereo-toms into mono toms without rim-function. As this would be a no-brainer for my drummer (he never uses the rim of his toms)
But we don't have the intention to increase the amount of toms - in fact, we want to get another stereo-input channel for a closed Hihat
If we take the toms 1 and 2, for example and connect them with a TRS to dual mono cable, Is it possible to set a panorama and extra volume for the toms, when they sit on the same channel?
Because it would be a shame, if Tom1 and 2 would have to share the same volume and panorama settings!

I have seen many pictures of drummers having more the the 3 cymbals and 2 Hihats without using 2 modules - but I just don't know how it is done.

Any advise would be helpful,

Best Regards,
Andy from Chaos Inside
Progressive-electronic Metal made in Austria



Karbonfaiba

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: 9
  • Analysis Paralysis!
    • View Profile
Re: Additional cymbals
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2022, 05:41:10 PM »
Splitting inputs is absolutely possible. I'm using 4x Hosa YPP-117

Do read the manual, but yes, pressing More + the input, then changing the instrument is how it's done.

I would recommend you reserve cymbal inputs for actual cymbals (with edge switches) as only those 3 channels support aftertouch. e.g. 3x CY-15R for Cymbal1-3 would be the optimum setup as that's 3 zones for each cymbal with aftertouch.

Only split Toms input 1-4 with the splitters = 1-zone tom and 1-zone cymbal.

I've added a china, splash, cowbell and xhat this way.

Chaosinside777

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Additional cymbals
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2022, 06:07:30 PM »
Thank you for your advice.
The only problem is, that we route the group outs for FoH and recording purpose, like

Bassdrum   Sub 1
Snare         Sub2
Toms          Sub3/4
Cymbals.     Sub5/6
Hihats/Ride Sub 7/8

If we split the Toms with mono cymbals, can I still route the cymbals via Sub5/6 or are they automatically bound to the Tom sub out 3/4?
Do you have the extra possibility to pan the cymbals or is the position of the stereo image bound to the channel?
The manual doesn‘t say anything about it.

As our music is usually Metal, we play in a lot of locations, where real drumsets are used, and we want to give the engineer proper control over the groups as well ad we want that for our recordings.

If there is a way to set different panorama settings for the rim triggers of the toms, that would be the greatest thing
ever. :-)

Deve Loper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Additional cymbals
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2022, 10:39:12 AM »
Hi. When you split toms or snare, you access them by holding More + Tomx or Snare.
Set the trigger type for the split ch on Unit - Trig page.
Set the sound on Kit - Drum.
Each can be individually panned on Kit - Vol.
Each can be routed as you want om Unit - Intf.
Remember to check More button is lit up.

Cheers, Deve.

Chaosinside777

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Additional cymbals
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2022, 04:19:25 PM »
Thank you so much for this information!!!!

Chaosinside777

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Additional cymbals
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2022, 08:49:34 AM »
Thank you so much for this information!!!!
Last weekend we splitted the Channels Tom1/Tom2 and put 4 Toms in mono with insert cables, and everything worked out great! So we got 2 additional stereo channels for a Crash and the China.
Cymbal One is now  a fully chokeable Crash, Cymbal 2 has become the Ride and Cymbal 3 was intended to be a closed Hihat.

As there is no way to calibrate the Hihat on the Cymbal Channel, is there a possibility to get the sound of an almost completely closed hihat (so, that it's "crispy", when hit)?
We have a Yamaha RHH-135, that we want to use as a closed Hihat, do you have any suggestions?
I thought about fixing the Roland VH-13 Hihat and recording samples to re-import the Dsnd-file back to the Cymbal 3 channel. But as I can hear, there are MANY dynamic steps in the 2-box Hihat.

Thank you for your help!

Andy