Author Topic: DDRUM3 vs Drumit 5 MKII : big surprise !  (Read 257 times)

alexz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
DDRUM3 vs Drumit 5 MKII : big surprise !
« on: May 13, 2020, 03:07:29 PM »
I made some comparisons between my new Drumit5 MKII and my old Ddrum3. And I had a few surprises :

For the sound, the Ddrum3 sounds more dynamic, but some kits sounds more neutral on the Drumit5.
Would it be possible to download Drumit5 files on the Ddrum3 PCMCIA cards ?

Bur way more impressive are the triggers reactions (with Drumit 5 pads) :
- with the Di5, the trigger doesn’t work if I play very soft (even with min threshold), and there are some ‘dead’ zones.
- with the Ddrum3, I can play as soft as I want, the trigger detects it always.  And no dead zone.
The DD3 triggers are so much better. Really night and day...
Is it possible to use the Ddrum3 as trigger and send it to the Drumit5 ?

Here the Ddrum3 sensitivity : https://vimeo.com/418110113
Here the Drumit5 MKII sensitivity : https://vimeo.com/418110650

« Last Edit: May 13, 2020, 05:04:59 PM by alexz »
Drumit 5 MKII - 2Box pads and snare
Roland VH13/2xCY13/CY8/CY5/FD9

Krillo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: 15
    • View Profile
Re: DDRUM3 vs Drumit 5 MKII : big surprise !
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2020, 03:24:25 PM »
If you use the ddrum3 with the original ddrum3 precision pads, the difference is even more striking.  :)

And yes, of course the drumit sounds can be put on PCMCIA-cards. Just open the dsnd-files in an editor, cut out the samples you want and normalize them first, and save as 16-bit.

alexz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: DDRUM3 vs Drumit 5 MKII : big surprise !
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2020, 05:03:06 PM »
If you use the ddrum3 with the original ddrum3 precision pads, the difference is even more striking.  :)

And yes, of course the drumit sounds can be put on PCMCIA-cards. Just open the dsnd-files in an editor, cut out the samples you want and normalize them first, and save as 16-bit.

Thanks, I'll try that ! Do you think it's possible to use the Ddrum3 as trigger and send it to the Drumit5 ?
PS : I had the precision pads; feeling is realistic, but too noisy for me, and the rebound was not as good.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2020, 05:28:55 PM by alexz »
Drumit 5 MKII - 2Box pads and snare
Roland VH13/2xCY13/CY8/CY5/FD9

Loz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: DDRUM3 vs Drumit 5 MKII : big surprise !
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2020, 07:16:52 AM »
Not sure what's going on there, I just did your test on my DI5 using the standard snare pad and had results similar to your DDRUM3 effort. Maybe try a different input?

alexz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: DDRUM3 vs Drumit 5 MKII : big surprise !
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2020, 12:59:00 PM »
Same result with other inputs or other 2Box pads.
Threshold sets at maximum sensitivity.
Drumit 5 MKII - 2Box pads and snare
Roland VH13/2xCY13/CY8/CY5/FD9

alexz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: DDRUM3 vs Drumit 5 MKII : big surprise !
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2020, 04:18:10 PM »
Not sure what's going on there, I just did your test on my DI5 using the standard snare pad and had results similar to your DDRUM3 effort. Maybe try a different input?
Here are my settings :
- pad type : PaPSS
- Xtalk : off
- gain : 17
- threshold : -43
- curve : norm
- mask : no

What are yours ?
Drumit 5 MKII - 2Box pads and snare
Roland VH13/2xCY13/CY8/CY5/FD9