Author Topic: Reverb on Drumit 3  (Read 468 times)

StuCon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Reverb on Drumit 3
« on: October 21, 2018, 08:18:09 AM »
Hi All,

I’m considering buying the drumit 3 but one piece of info I can’t seem to find anywhere is how reverb and other effects are applied. I’ve seen videos that have reverb added, but it’s not clear whether this is done on the samples themselves, on the unit, or using an external effects processor. If it’s on the unit, how adjustable is the reverb? Does it have multiple parameters?

Could any drumit 3 owners help?

Thanks!

paulf707

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Reverb on Drumit 3
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2018, 10:19:05 AM »
Drumit 3 manual is here:
http://2box-drums.com/support/
Looks like there are no onboard FX in the d3 (I didn't know that!)
I've got the d5 and that has limited FX (delay or flanger) so you're not missing much!
Many of the samples are recorded with various Reverb levels (but that does mean you can't really change them) - there is a decay setting you can reduce that could reduce the reverb heard....

paulf707

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Reverb on Drumit 3
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2018, 10:24:58 AM »
If you buy Lustark's software:
https://www.lustark.com/drumit-manager
(which is superb and great value for money)
you can add reverb to sounds, and also extract all WAVs so you can process them yourself (and then use the 2Box tool to recompile into DSND format

StuCon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Reverb on Drumit 3
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2018, 06:10:56 PM »
Thanks Paul that’s really helpful and the software looks good. I guess this is only really relevant for practice anyway since in a live or recording setting the reverb can be controlled at FOH or on the DAW.

I think the main issue for me is that a totally dry kit sounds a bit fake through headphones, but listening to the 2box samples they do have a bit of room noise in them as you say, so it should be fine.

Do you find you’ve missed having controllable reverb?

paulf707

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Reverb on Drumit 3
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2018, 07:01:15 PM »
No, I haven't missed it, but I haven't done any proper recording with the d5 yet.
Normally I try to use the same (or at least similar) reverb on all instruments in the mix; but if I'm using d5 patches with reverb on, then this wont be so easy....
I'm not expecting it to be a major issue, just might take a bit more work to get an overall mix sounding right....