News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

20" kick with mesh head and trigger

Started by InTheBox, March 30, 2017, 10:41:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

InTheBox

I was lucky to snag a 20" Pearl Forum kick drum from the Salvation Army shop for cheap the other day. The drum was barely used, just a little dirty :)

I'm thinking to convert this into a triggered kick with a mesh head. I have little experience with how large mesh heads behave and I'm wondering what steps I should take to achieve proper triggering. I'm guessing that just side mounting an internal trigger and slapping the mesh head on would lead to a lot of false triggering and a very bouncy playing surface. Perhaps some dampening material would be in order.

I see a lot of you guys who are building stealth kits are using large mesh heads. Would any of you be so kind as to divulge a little how you handle triggering larger heads? :D

I'm thinking to make my own triggers based on the  2box style.

welshsteve

Yeah I'd imagine a mesh 20" would be quit "spongey" but you could always tighten it up real high, won't affect the sound because of course it doesn't make much. Or alternatively you could pad it out with a pillow or something.
I trigger 22" with a mylar head and the Trigit external triggers, after a bit of fiddling with settings it triggers fantastic.
I was using a Triggera BIX trigger (the one which is a beater) but it felt to bits after a year, a year of a LOT of heavy playing I'll add. I have a second one I was gonna use but I've got used to the Trigit one now.
My Hovercraft is full of Eels!

InTheBox

Yeah.. I'm doing some brainstorming about what to do with this drum.

I'm thinking about putting in a plywood baffle at the playing end, making that end of the drum about 10 cm deep. I will fill that space with synthetic pillow fibers to hopefully deaden down most of the vibration.