News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

Hihat and alternatives

Started by nicog, August 17, 2014, 12:20:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nicog

Hello guys, this is my first post here.
Im planing to buy a 2box module.
My only dubts are about the hihat.

* Can someone explain me how it works? I mean, is it only the pad? or is it also a foot controller like alesis ie.

I live in Argentina and we dont have a retailer here. So, Im taking the opportunity in next month Im travelling to usa and would like to buy it there.
The thing is, I cannot carry with the entire kit, so my plan is to buy only the module. But, I have to make sure which HH controller/pads can be used.

For the moment I have my own diy cymbals with an alesis realhat pedal.
* Im also assuming any electronic pad would work for the drums.

* I found the module on amazon, but cant find the 2box hihat.

I would be nice if you guys can tell me which options are around.

I really appreciate it, thanks in advance.

Murgen

Original hihat has a magnetic sensor in it's shaft and comes with a lose cilinder shaped magnet which fits on any standard hihat standard. By using the pedal the magnet stays in place and the hihat sensor measures the changes and translates the difference in a signal corresponding with the right sound. The sensor can identify several different positions and most hihat samples have 4-8 sounds for that.

This is on top of my head. The principle is brilliant, no parts that can wear out and a hihat that moves like a real one. But for some of us it is very hard to get it fully tweaked (I had occasional misfires which I could not explain or solve).

Check the posts om the forum for alternatives, esp. JMan and Manfred did a lot of R&D for this. I replaced mine for GEN16 cymbals and never looked back.
--------
2Box Drumit 5 Mk2 since 2012

fulrmr