Author Topic: WARNING Do Not try to access module via USB after doing the 32GB SD-Card Mod  (Read 5576 times)

Jman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1941
  • Karma: 119
  • D5 modules SN: 00197 and 02207 D3 module SN 00009
    • View Profile
    • Stealth Drums
I decided I should post this today after seeing another post on a forum about someone screwing up their 32GB card and making it unusable in the 2Box module.

First of all, for the record:  Any modification you do to your 2Box module is at your own risk and could void the manufacturer warranty.

This has been posted at various times in various threads, but just to repeat again.

DO NOT TRY TO CONNECT YOUR MODULE VIA USB AFTER DOING THE 8/16/32GB CARD EXTENSION MOD!

4GB is the limit to card size installed in the 2Box module that can be accessed via direct USB connection to your module.

Use a Card Reader with your computer to access the 2Box card after doing the larger card installation/mod.
You can do all the functions necessary via a card reader on your computer with your 8/16/32GB card. You can add or remove files. You can change to the latest OS. You can use all the functions of the 2Box Editor and Drumit Manager http://lustark.com/drumit-manager , rename kits, import, export kits, export backups, etc.

If you don't already have a card reader on your computer or the card reader you are using is hit or miss (like the internal one in my PC) a simple inexpensive USB card reader will work. One like this is what I use: 
All in 1 Card Reader by Jman Stealth, on Flickr
« Last Edit: March 20, 2018, 05:46:37 PM by Jman »
I could tell you where to stick that piezo! :D ;)
http://stealthdrums.com/

Tengstedt73

  • Guest
Hey Jman .
I did it . The issue you warn against . How can i make it Work Again ??? Have i killed the brain ???

Jman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1941
  • Karma: 119
  • D5 modules SN: 00197 and 02207 D3 module SN 00009
    • View Profile
    • Stealth Drums
Hey Jman .
I did it . The issue you warn against . How can i make it Work Again ??? Have i killed the brain ???
Read this:  http://www.2box-forum.com/index.php?topic=1941.msg17330#msg17330
And after reformatting you will have to reload the card with the 2Box files. If you have a backup of your original 2Box files or your original 2Box card you can copy those to the new card. If not, here is a link for the original 2Box content: http://www.hyperactive.de/support/2box

A few that have made this mistake have reported that they rendered their card useless and needed to replace the card. Hopefully you will be able to fix the problem by simply reformatting and reloading the files. Remember when loading files on the card the Drumit.dkit,  Drumit126.bin, and the DrumitInit.dkit files go on the Root of the card.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2014, 02:30:13 PM by Jman »
I could tell you where to stick that piezo! :D ;)
http://stealthdrums.com/