Author Topic: DrumIt Five Editor add-on  (Read 9476 times)

Lustar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
  • Karma: 78
  • 2-Box S/N 01855
    • View Profile
    • Lustark Software
DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« on: February 24, 2013, 01:14:31 PM »
The new version of SDSE includes something a bit different, it's a DrumIt Five Editor add-on.
I hope it can be useful to all 2Box users and not just those of us who export sounds from drum VSTs with SDSE.

It runs on Windows and has been tested on Windows XP, Windows 7.

This add-on is not made by 2Box and is not a modification of the DrumIt Five Editor program from 2Box, it's a different program that runs separately.


It allows you to set different pad layouts which is useful for people who split their toms to add more pads or use a custom setup.
It can serve as a visual reminder but is also used by SDSE to build .dkit files using your custom pad layout.



When SDSE and the DrumIt Five Editor are both open you will get a personalized view.


If you use several DrumIt Five modules you can have different layouts matched to your modules.

The default layouts are:
1: default 2Box layout
2: example of a split tom layout with an extra Tom, two more Cymbals and a Cowbell.
3: example of a black kit with a cymbal and Cowbell on the Tom 4
4: example of a very different layout with Toms on Cymbal pads, Cymbals on Kick and Snare pads



Click on one of the numbered buttons to switch to one of the four layouts.


Edit SDSE_DrumItFive.ini to change those four layouts to your preference.

If you split the first Tom on your module to add a Cymbal you would change
tom 1 rim=RIM
to
tom 1 rim=CYMBAL 3

You can use all the names found in the SDSE Reaper project (KICK, SNARE, TOM, RIDE, CYMBAL, CRASH, SPLASH, CHINA, SPOCK, COWBELL) or any custom name.

You can also change the colours to match your kit by adding ";000000" where 000000 is a 6 character colour code (see here for examples)
To set the fourth tom to black (or dark grey) you would set:
tom 1=TOM 1;303030


When you export a full kit using SDSE it will build the matching .dkit file taking into account the extra spots you set in your configuration.
It will use the default layout set by "Default Layout=", or the current layout if the DrumIt Five Editor is open and you switched the view to a different layout.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2013, 01:34:37 PM by Lustar »

edtc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1174
  • Karma: 51
  • 2-Box S/N 01155
    • View Profile
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2013, 03:54:50 PM »
hi Lustar

you re full of great ideas ;).... very nice those customs views for those who have a non standard kit , or use multiple modules ...

congrats


BURNIN AMBITION

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
  • Karma: 21
  • 2-Box S/N 2167
    • View Profile
    • iola 11
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2013, 04:34:23 PM »
this will definitely help me!!! thank you my friend!!!

BURNIN AMBITION

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
  • Karma: 21
  • 2-Box S/N 2167
    • View Profile
    • iola 11
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2013, 04:36:21 PM »
just thought it. is there a way to alter thewhole 100 dkitys in our brain, according to new drum it 5 editor program?
 i mean, is there an easy way, we can alter the rims of toms of the 100 first dkits into our configuration? and not go to module and change everything by hand? thank you

Jman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1957
  • Karma: 121
  • D5 modules SN: 00197 and 02207 D3 module SN 00009
    • View Profile
    • Stealth Drums
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2013, 06:02:31 PM »
I do use the Drumit 5 Kit editor at times to re-arrange instruments, view my kits, etc. Will the editor add on only work on new kits built with SDSE or will it work to change the view on existing kits? Does the Drumit 5 Editor need to be in the SDSE folder? The reason I asked is I did open both together, I do see the notification that SDSE Drumit Five Add On is running, but even though I have chosen config 2 as my setup and made modifications for my setup..... the view is still the same..... No 1, 2, 3 or 4 buttons, etc .... Another nice add on Lustar!
« Last Edit: February 24, 2013, 06:16:44 PM by Jman »
I could tell you where to stick that piezo! :D ;)
http://stealthdrums.com/

Lustar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
  • Karma: 78
  • 2-Box S/N 01855
    • View Profile
    • Lustark Software
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2013, 07:14:45 PM »
Burnin Ambition:
There's no way right now but it would be nice. I can't promise anything but I'll sure look into a solution to do this. It would probably be another tool. It could allow to insert a few .dsnd to the same pads or rims on all 100 kits or to rearrange existing kits.

Jman:
It's meant to have a different view of the kit, new .dkit produced by SDSE will use the layout you set as "Default Layout" or the currently active layout but if you open a factory .dkit you would have to move the instruments yourself to match your layout.

If you set the layouts to match your setup you can have a nicer view of your kits (one layout for your main kit, another layout for a second module with percussions). For a second layout that would only be used for percussions and cymbals without caring about populating a .dkit when exporting from a VST you could even set the names to match each percussion instrument or use the brand name of the pad. You can change the colors of all pads so you could make it look like your kit to make it even easier to locate a pad.
The tool suggested by Burnin Ambition would be nice to update existing .dkit files in case you decide to change your setup.

The Editor doesn't need to be in the same folder. When you open both, you may have to click on the DrumIt Five Editor for the add-on to appear. If it doesn't work, close both and try again. Hopefully it does work on Windows 8, I only tested it on XP and 7.

Jman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1957
  • Karma: 121
  • D5 modules SN: 00197 and 02207 D3 module SN 00009
    • View Profile
    • Stealth Drums
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2013, 08:01:05 PM »

Jman:
It's meant to have a different view of the kit, new .dkit produced by SDSE will use the layout you set as "Default Layout" or the currently active layout but if you open a factory .dkit you would have to move the instruments yourself to match your layout.

If you set the layouts to match your setup you can have a nicer view of your kits (one layout for your main kit, another layout for a second module with percussions). For a second layout that would only be used for percussions and cymbals without caring about populating a .dkit when exporting from a VST you could even set the names to match each percussion instrument or use the brand name of the pad. You can change the colors of all pads so you could make it look like your kit to make it even easier to locate a pad.
The Editor doesn't need to be in the same folder. When you open both, you may have to click on the DrumIt Five Editor for the add-on to appear. If it doesn't work, close both and try again. Hopefully it does work on Windows 8, I only tested it on XP and 7.
It does say Drumit Five Editor add-0n enabled in SDSE. And DrumIt Five Editor + SDSE add-on, but no change in the view, no 1,2 3, 4 button choices. I tried both 32Bit and 64Bit versions. So, there must be something dif in Windows 8 .... J
I could tell you where to stick that piezo! :D ;)
http://stealthdrums.com/

BURNIN AMBITION

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
  • Karma: 21
  • 2-Box S/N 2167
    • View Profile
    • iola 11
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2013, 12:49:09 PM »
lustar, whatever i say wont suffice, you are a true god. thank you for all your effort and help in the community

asmwilliams

  • Guest
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2013, 04:06:46 PM »
That looks awesome!  I just ordered a couple new cymbals, so that will come in handy for when I split those toms.  Thanks very much for the work you've put into your software, Lustar.  We all appreciate it tons!

Lustar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
  • Karma: 78
  • 2-Box S/N 01855
    • View Profile
    • Lustark Software
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2013, 11:27:16 PM »
Thanks for the much too kind words.
A new version of the add-on is available with SDSE 1.4.1, "now with tiny pads" :)

nonoduweb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2013, 12:12:21 PM »
Hi Lustar

thanks for this new version.

Now, could you add a positional sensing feature to the 2box module, please?   ;D  ;) :animal:


Lustar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
  • Karma: 78
  • 2-Box S/N 01855
    • View Profile
    • Lustark Software
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2013, 09:16:00 PM »
No spoilers please! ;D

If anyone had trouble with the add-on not displaying it should now work on your computer with SDSE 1.4.3

tom_drums

  • Guest
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2013, 04:53:08 PM »
thank u ! looks great.
I have a problem,I can't connect the module to my mac.
u konw how to that ? not really plug and edit i will say...
please help
thanks


Lustar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
  • Karma: 78
  • 2-Box S/N 01855
    • View Profile
    • Lustark Software
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #13 on: March 09, 2013, 07:15:53 PM »
tom_drums, do you mean the DrumIt five module or the editor add-on? This add-on works on Windows.
Connecting the DrumIt Five module through USB is meant to edit the content of the internal memory, it should appear as an external drive. To do so you need to start the module in USB mode: turn on the module while pressing the top/left button next to the screen (USB).

tom_drums

  • Guest
Re: DrumIt Five Editor add-on
« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2013, 04:23:35 PM »
thanks a lot !!
Finally i fix it. i just forgot to action the button up the display when starting the module...
evrything is working perfectly !!!! so cool !!!
thanks a lot