News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

Ableton Live Midi Instrument

Started by Steinbock, December 29, 2012, 02:18:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steinbock

Hi Guys,

I have the following issue and hope someone can help me.

I am a recording beginner.

I would like to record my playing through Midi in Ableton Live using the drumit five sounds.

So I connected the Midi out to my Focusrite Saffire USB device (Midi in). In the Midi Menue I set PRGCHG to ON, LOCAL ON and THRU off, Channel 10.

On my MIDI track of Ableton, I can see all the notes I played but there is no sound attached to it. Now the question is: How do I do this? In the manual there is only a note saying "if LOCAL is set to ON, the own sounds of drumit five are used". So are the respective sounds also sent through the midi cable or do I have to install the sound libraries separately and if yes how do I do this?

Thank you for your help.

Regards,
Thomas

edtc

it s normal because you only record Midi notes this way...

to hear back the sound , you ll have to plug a second MIDI cable from computer s out to 2boxes input...

fishmonkey

Quote from: Steinbock on December 29, 2012, 02:18:45 PM
Hi Guys,

I have the following issue and hope someone can help me.

I am a recording beginner.

I would like to record my playing through Midi in Ableton Live using the drumit five sounds.

So I connected the Midi out to my Focusrite Saffire USB device (Midi in). In the Midi Menue I set PRGCHG to ON, LOCAL ON and THRU off, Channel 10.

On my MIDI track of Ableton, I can see all the notes I played but there is no sound attached to it. Now the question is: How do I do this? In the manual there is only a note saying "if LOCAL is set to ON, the own sounds of drumit five are used". So are the respective sounds also sent through the midi cable or do I have to install the sound libraries separately and if yes how do I do this?

Thank you for your help.

Regards,
Thomas