News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

Rob's 2Box DIY Ludwig Kit

Started by ROB219, January 07, 2012, 03:48:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ROB219

Hi guys, I am new to this forum but some of you may know me from over on VDrums.com as "rasoo" I've been hanging around on there since 2006.

Anyway recently I decided to change over from my Roland based DIY A-E conversion to a Drumit5 module and 2Box hihat pad.
I take delivery of the module and hats early next week as I write this.

The kit in focus is a modified Ludwig Epic Modular kit. It was originally a blue/black fade with twin 20 x 8" kicks. Toms are 10 x  8, 12 x 8, 14 x 12 and 16 x 12. Snare is 13 x 6.

Here is the donor kit:

All mounts on a Roland MDS-25 rack (strong!!) I currently have Roland cymbals which I have used before with a 2Box module and they work fine.
I'll be DIY'ing a new 20" ride and a lower hat "cymbal" for the HiHats. Some custom mods for the HiHat clutch are also on the cards.

In its current form the kit sports a "Marble" wrap in a blue/Black colour. That will be going in favour of this new Tangarine Sparkle wrap:

Its ordered and should be coming in from the USA soon.

In the meantime I had (with the help of my mate and fellow member on here "Twisted Mellow" Ian) some custom 2Box decals made from artwork supplied, I got some orange decals made for the front of the kick drum head and some smaller white ones for the bottoms of the custom cymbals I'll be doing. Oh, the cymbal bases will be painted in a lovely bright orange to match the Module.
More on them later....

The front kick decal fitted:

Notice the drum is still in its old colour, like I say I don't have the new wrap through yet, but the black hoops will stay.

So, I'll post more as it comes to hand, happy to field questions and comments/suggestions are more than appreciated!!

Rob.

puttenvr

We all want that 2Box logo on the fronthead so much ...
How did you?

ROB219