unofficial 2box forum

2Box Drumit 5 Forum => General 2Box Drumit 3 Forum => Topic started by: edcito on August 14, 2018, 04:39:49 PM

Title: Drumit 3 compatibility with roland newest pads
Post by: edcito on August 14, 2018, 04:39:49 PM
I remember 8 years ago when I got my first drumit 5 module, I had a beautiful Roland set with the pd-x pads and was so dissapointed that it was not possible to use them with the module, the rim-head separation wasn't there and ended up selling the roland pads and bought the 2box pads.

Now, 8 years after I just cannot say how satisfied I am with the drumit 3 and its compatibility with the roland pd-108, 128 series which have a much hotter rim hahaha, the LXTR is just magic and now I have clean separation between head and rim, trigger a loop on the rim and don't be afraid to trigger a spock cymbal assigned to the head. Works on the snare and toms, and even if you can't get it right on the toms it doesn't matter since you are going to split the input to use another cymbal or pad.

Huge selling point for 2box, I just wish they were more aggressive in the market, specially in the US, nobody knows them there...
Title: Re: Drumit 3 compatibility with roland newest pads
Post by: welshsteve on August 16, 2018, 10:50:38 PM
Hey, good to hear great positive response about the DI3. Yeah you're right, they could benefit from some marketing. I am sure a lot of sales are the result of users like us telling folk with older kit where the module is sounding dated but the pads are still holding up that for a mere £700 you can bring a new lease of life to that set up!
Title: Re: Drumit 3 compatibility with roland newest pads
Post by: rlaboss on December 10, 2018, 11:50:52 PM
Newbie here - I just heard about 2box 3 and 5 over the weekend. I spent hours on YouTube checking out these amazing products. I’m playing a set of Roland mesh heads with the expanded TD9 module.
Are they compatible with the Drumit 3?   Thank you.
Title: Re: Drumit 3 compatibility with roland newest pads
Post by: Jman on December 11, 2018, 04:54:57 AM
Newbie here - I just heard about 2box 3 and 5 over the weekend. I spent hours on YouTube checking out these amazing products. I’m playing a set of Roland mesh heads with the expanded TD9 module.
Are they compatible with the Drumit 3?   Thank you.
Yes.
Title: Re: Drumit 3 compatibility with roland newest pads
Post by: JRage on December 11, 2018, 03:14:00 PM
Newbie here - I just heard about 2box 3 and 5 over the weekend. I spent hours on YouTube checking out these amazing products. I’m playing a set of Roland mesh heads with the expanded TD9 module.
Are they compatible with the Drumit 3?   Thank you.
They are even compatible with Drumit5  8)
Title: Re: Drumit 3 compatibility with roland newest pads
Post by: Jman on December 11, 2018, 05:04:00 PM
They are even compatible with Drumit5  8)
To a point, major differences are the way the cymbals and Hi Hat are handled. The Hi Hat will only work with my Stealth 2Box HH Stand Conversion Kit or Zourman's box. Crashes are simple enough when set to PS or CyEdg type they will trigger Bow/Edge/Choke just like on the Roland module. But 3 zone Ride you would use the Bow/Bell input of the cymbal and set it to CyCup if you have a 2 jack Roland type Ride and you will get Bow/Bell ... no edge or choke.
Title: Re: Drumit 3 compatibility with roland newest pads
Post by: ANGR77 on December 11, 2018, 06:25:02 PM
Hi!

Besides the Stealth HH kit and the Zourman HH module there is also a Roland 3 Zone Ride or ATV conversation module for 2box DI5 available. It converts the three zones to 2box 3 zone format.

If using Drumit 3 most Roland gears will run natively directly without any modules.

Best regards

Anders / www.zourman.com

Title: Re: Drumit 3 compatibility with roland newest pads
Post by: JRage on December 13, 2018, 03:13:12 PM
To a point, major differences are the way the cymbals and Hi Hat are handled. The Hi Hat will only work with my Stealth 2Box HH Stand Conversion Kit or Zourman's box. Crashes are simple enough when set to PS or CyEdg type they will trigger Bow/Edge/Choke just like on the Roland module. But 3 zone Ride you would use the Bow/Bell input of the cymbal and set it to CyCup if you have a 2 jack Roland type Ride and you will get Bow/Bell ... no edge or choke.
Agreee. My point was about PDX pads not cymbals (and of course, not hi-hat), which I actually don't use except maybe as a splash sometimes :) For Yamaha experience is quite opposite: their cymbals are much better (OK, no 3 zones, but choke works) but their silicon pads are less sensitive and need adjustments.