News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

New drummer here, so uh... hello.

Started by fizznchips, March 17, 2015, 07:13:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fizznchips

Hey guys,

Just joined this forum, so wanted to say hi. I've been playing music for about 25 years now (piano first, then bass, then guitar), and just started learning the drums about a month ago. I'm at the point now where I want to buy myself a kit, but have neither the room nor the walls for an acoustic kit. However, I'd sooner buy a nice electronic kit and get good on it, rather than a shitty one that I'll upgrade a year or so in.

Which brings me here. My google fu led me to 2box pretty early on. The reviews I've seen seem promising, but I was hoping to pick your brains. Is it a great kit? Should I compare to specific alternatives? Anything a beginner should know?

I have lessons once a week on an acoustic kit, for what that's worth.

Thanks for your help! Looking forward to posting more.

wildhorse5678

If you are still learning the drums and want to play silently or v quietly at home then i think you need a kit with rubber pads rather than mesh heads. This is more for you to learn stick technique. Rubber pads have more bounce than mesh so you will learn better stick control . When i started learning drums in c 1967 my teacher wouldnt let me touch a drum for 6 months. I learned mama dada on rubber practise pad only once i could play controlled drum rolls at all volume on the pad did i progress to a snare drum.  You dont say where you live. I understand that in USA 2 box kits are supplied with rubber heads not mesh.