Author Topic: Drumit not powering up  (Read 381 times)

1781cc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Drumit not powering up
« on: October 08, 2017, 01:21:03 PM »
Hi all, I’m UK based and had my 2box three years - love it!

Only recently it’s dead, won’t power up at all! Gutted...

I couldn’t get a replacement from UK supplier hand in hand or Andertons music, so ordered from Thomann and it arrived the other day, it’s a Euro adapter, on the plus, the lcd illuminates but nothing is visible, no controls, no sounds...

Is the euro adapter not powerful enough because of the euro voltage? Or is the head unit buggered and needs to head back to Sweden for repairs?

I’m going crazy at the moment and considering buying normal drum heads to keep me going...

Help!

wildhorse5678

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Drumit not powering up
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2017, 07:13:49 AM »
When you say the LCD is lighting up...what do you mean?  Do you mean the navigation screen comes on but is blank or does this not light up at all..Do the buttons on the left representing the pads light up..

Try connecting via usb to computer..and see if that makes any difference.

1781cc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Drumit not powering up
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2017, 09:22:55 AM »
Thanks for the reply!

When the new power supply is plugged in it lights the lcd up yellow (but no text of any sort or boot screen) and its flashing. I can also hear the power supply making an almost ticking noise. When plugged into the computer nothing happens.

I've looked at the original and euro power supply and I can see the voltage and power conversion looks slightly different, so maybe thats it and I need a new UK power supply (which I will try and source as I am returning the Euro one to Thomann)

I hope its power at lease. Ever had this issue? recommend any places to get a spare psu?

ANGR77

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: 22
  • Testing 2Box, have got my hands on the unit 211
    • View Profile
    • Zourman.com
Re: Drumit not powering up
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2017, 04:47:05 PM »
Can you take a photo of the power supply with the specs and publish it here?

Is it 18V AC/AC ?

Sonor Force Stage 2007 + Safari, Quartz Triggers, Roland & Triggera, 2box Cymbals & HH, RT-10, KT-10, BT-1, VH-11,-12,-13, KT-10, CY-12,14C,15R, MegaDRUM, 2Box 32GB, OS1.30.3, Pearl ButtKicker Addictive Drums 2.1.6, all ADPaks moved to 2box(SDSE tool) Zourman HH Conversion Kit http://www.zourman.com

welshsteve

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Drumit not powering up
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2017, 10:16:56 PM »
Has to be at least 15 volts. Not sure of the Amps but anything over 1000 MA would be sufficient. I know this because I have had a couple ac adaptor fail on me though regular use. I bought an 18volt AC/AC adaptor (HAS to be AC/AC!!!!) made by Alto via ebay for £12. Works great. I kept the 15volt AC/AC adaptor I had lying around (from an old mixer I no longer use) as a spare so I won't panic next time one fails.

1781cc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Drumit not powering up
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2017, 01:56:24 PM »
Thanks both, I am working away at the moment but will post up as soon as I can.

I tried looking in Maplin and RS components but couldn't find a suitable adaptor, I believe its an 18V 9A, will confirm when back

Do you recommend something like this? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1A-18V-ALTO-ZMX862-MIXER-AC-AC-OUTPUT-MAINS-POWER-ADAPTOR-SUPPLY-TRANSFORMER-/121879223105?hash=item1c60915b41:g:9cIAAOSw44BYEMuL
« Last Edit: October 10, 2017, 02:57:39 PM by 1781cc »

welshsteve

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Drumit not powering up
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2017, 07:08:32 PM »
Yes, this is what I got as a second/main PSU and it works fine!

1781cc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Drumit not powering up
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2017, 09:22:27 AM »
Top man, just ordered it, will post back and confirm if it was a fix.

Thanks

Jman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1769
  • Karma: 105
  • Two modules SN: 00197 and 02207
    • View Profile
    • Stealth Drums
Re: Drumit not powering up
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2017, 05:51:12 AM »
Top man, just ordered it, will post back and confirm if it was a fix.

Thanks
Fingers crossed ...... cause if that isn't the problem it is in the module.
I could tell you where to stick that piezo! :D ;)

1781cc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Drumit not powering up
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2017, 10:19:21 AM »
adapter arrived, plugged it in.. same blank screen flashed then died. Burning smell from the module now...  :o

welshsteve

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Drumit not powering up
« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2017, 12:24:19 AM »
Oh that's not good. The only thing I can suggest now is to take it to an electrical engineer to repair, 2box should be able to supply a circuit diagram to a qualified service personnel to repair it with or maybe they themselves and repair it for you? I hope you get it sorted!