News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

Hihat control via MIDI? Can it be done?!?

Started by Darthsleader, September 18, 2017, 11:44:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Darthsleader

Hi Guys,

Somebody help me!

I'm no MIDI novice and have done some pretty thinking-outside-the-box Midi applications over the years, but this one has me stymied.

Is there ANY WAY to play the various hihat articulations (closed/open/foot) via Midi? I want to use my DrumIt5 as a module for my Zendrum and TrapKat controllers, but so far, can't.

In Roland/Yamaha/Alesis land, closed hh has a note number (42), open hh has a number (44?) and foot chick has a number (46?). And, they are in a "mute group", so playing any artic will shut off any currently playing notes in the group (this is how it "closes" an open hh note).

Now I know that 2Box doesn't handle the hihat this way- there is no separate note number for the various open-to-closed sounds; that's fine. I was planning to record my own samples of closed hits (tip of stick for the quieter half, shoulder for the louder) and open hits (same stick use) and foot chick, and then simply assign the Closed sample to the hihat channel, and the other two to Aux channels (tom rims), and assign all of them to a mute group.

2Box doesn't HAVE mute groups! ?!?!?

My next idea was to set the note numbers in such a way that the closed sound also happens to occupy the same note number as one of the cymbal pads' Choke (the 4th Midi note number on any cymbal channel), and then assign the Open hh sound to that cymbal, so the Closed hits would choke it. Well, I tried this also... for some reason, it does choke the sound a TINY bit but definitely not all the way. I'm guessing it's because the note message generated by the Zendrum is extremely short- virtually instantaneous. I assume if I were on a keyboard, and hit and held the note, it would choke all the way... but at any rate, not working.