News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

How to create a proper setup for a drum playthrough

Started by Progdrummer, November 10, 2018, 04:26:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Progdrummer

Hello folks!

I've been using my Drum It 5 MK II for 4 years and I'm definitely satisfied with my sounds and the feeling I achieved.
What I'm trying to do now is a little harder to achieve: I use to play over drumless songs to end my training session, and I would love to create a YouTube channel just for fun and showcase a bit of them.
But I need it to make it as best as I can.

This is why I'm asking for your help: could you please suggest me what should I get to record a proper drumalong session using SD2 or similar in real time via MIDI?
As for now I only have single sound kits on the DrumIt 5 brain, but I would love to be able playing using Superior Drummer with a MIDI connection, switching drumkits anytime I want without creating any file at all. And I would love being able to record everything in a good fashion, audio only would be good enough to me, I'll get a Go Pro for the visuals later.

So, could you please tell me exactly what kind of laptop, software and connections do I need to make it real?

Thanks a lot in advance :)

Greetings from Italy!

paulf707

Hi!
That's quite a wide ranging question...…

You say you want to use a VST (e.g. SD2 or similar) rather than the onboard Drumit sounds.. Therefore you will need a PC/Laptop/Mac to host this. You will also need a good quality Audio Interface to be able to playback the sounds in real-time with very little latency. If this interface doesn't include Midi connections, you will also need a Midi interface. You will need an DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) to host the VST and record the Midi / Audio performances.

PC/Laptop/Mac