News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

Advice for a newbie?

Started by btucker1022, March 01, 2016, 12:06:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

btucker1022

I'm brand new to the VST world. And I'm trying to figure out how to acquire samples (specifically 80's e-drums).
I thought there were just libraries, I could purchase. But it seems like the libraries come as part of a master program like "Addictive Drums"
Is this correct? Do I need to spend $200 for the privilege of buying a library? Or am I missing something?

Coda

Yes and no. This is what frustrated me when I was looking to buy sounds too. After all my complaining about pricing and stuff, in the end I just buckled in and bought BFD3 (the most expensive one AFAIK). However, that doesn't have to be you. There are some great libraries out there which are cheaper, but they are limited in the amount of instruments/kits they have. For example, I looked at Analogue Drums (http://www.analoguedrums.com/). They have some cheap great sounding drum kit packages, that may have everything you need, but the some of the instruments are missing articulations (such as hihats with limited opening positions). The problem with VSTs is they are built for studio use, where composers, producers or sound engineers who are not necessarily drummers want to either lay down a drum track as a foundation to aid composition/production (and replace it with real drums later), or compose a track and leave the VST drums in. These VSTs do not usually have all the articulations that we would play on a real kit (like the aforementioned hi-hat problem) and so we have to work around them. It also means we have to pay full price for some kind of an engine that we'll only use a few times, and then for the sounds which we'll export also a few times. It is what it is.
With some packs (like analogue drums, and abbey road drummer series) you need the full version of Kontakt (again $$$) to use as an engine.