News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

2Box Newbie here with a bass drum dillema

Started by CTSDrums, May 25, 2015, 01:42:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CTSDrums

For starters, I live in the US an replacement parts are not as easy to come by.

And now to my message.

I just acquired a 2Box MK2 for a really reasonable price. It was listed as an open box/return and in addition to only coming with the pads it was also missing a few parts. Luckily I have a rack from an original Yamaha DTXtreme along with all the clamps/hex ball mounts, which worked perfectly to mount my 2box and I was able to order a replacement hihat magnet from Electronic Drum Center. However, the kit is also missing the bass drum rack mount.

My dillema is this: Does anyone know if the bass drum rack mount will work with any other rack aside from the 2box rack or should I invest in purchasing a different e-kick from a different manufacturer? It's hard to willingly spend $100 plus international shipping and then wait on the part without knowing if it will work on my rack when I could spend that money on a different bass drum. Does anyone know of where I could get this part state-side aside from a private sale of any sort of DIY mount so that it can sit on the floor instead of the rack? Or does anyone else have any other suggestions?

So far I love the 2Box. Luckily a friend of mine is letting me borrow an Alesis Kick pad and it gets the job done but it feels like im kicking a rock.

Thanks!!
-Justin

InTheBox

Do you use the 2box clamps on your Yamaha rack? The bass drum clamp is the same diameter as the tom/cymbal clamps, the larger side of the clamp connects to the rack bar.

However, from what I've seen of Yamaha racks they do not have a lower tube. You'll need this to connect the bass pad to the rack. Also, the 2box rack has curved bars. The tom bar curves away from you and the bass bar curves towards you to allow for the toms not to be too close to you.