Author Topic: Recording 2box at home  (Read 3424 times)

supermachoman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Recording 2box at home
« on: March 22, 2015, 05:21:04 PM »
Hi. I'm completely new at this, so show patience.

I want to buy an audio interface to record my 2box drumset on my computer; I'm gonna use Cubase and Windows 7.
My budget for the interface is around 200$. Any suggestions? How many inputs should it have?

I have more questions to come, but one at a time.

edcito

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
  • Karma: 11
  • coming back to life...
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2015, 06:36:01 PM »
Do you plan to record midi or audio? or both?

supermachoman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2015, 06:55:30 PM »
I'd prefer to record audio mainly.

makoki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2015, 07:52:15 PM »
I've got the Lexicon Omega interface, that works fantastic for those purposes on a budget. Around 140 EUR here in Europe.

supermachoman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2015, 08:04:30 PM »
I've got the Lexicon Omega interface, that works fantastic for those purposes on a budget. Around 140 EUR here in Europe.

awesome.
do you use all of your inputs? can I get away with less, like 2 for example?

geo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2015, 01:51:11 PM »
You can tape your left earbud on top of the built-in mic on your monitor. No need to buy an interface.

Seriously though, you won't be able to do any decent recording with less than a 32 channel digital desk.

Srs tho, it depends entirely what you want to do with said recordings.

Quick demo? One or two inputs recording all sounds.
Rough tweaking? Four inputs: kick, snare, cymbals, toms.
Studio quality? MIDI input plus as many audio inputs as you've got recording individual sounds, reroute the remaining and replay the MIDI to record any you've missed.

supermachoman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2015, 02:05:56 PM »
You can tape your left earbud on top of the built-in mic on your monitor. No need to buy an interface.

Seriously though, you won't be able to do any decent recording with less than a 32 channel digital desk.

Srs tho, it depends entirely what you want to do with said recordings.

Quick demo? One or two inputs recording all sounds.
Rough tweaking? Four inputs: kick, snare, cymbals, toms.
Studio quality? MIDI input plus as many audio inputs as you've got recording individual sounds, reroute the remaining and replay the MIDI to record any you've missed.

nah, I'm not looking to do serious work at home, just record some demos to show ideas to my bandmates, and also record myself to listen to mistakes and record progress.

makoki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2015, 09:44:04 PM »
Have a look. This is done with the Lexicon, no processing, FX or any other than the output stereo from 2box


https://soundcloud.com/miguel-del-rey/gritare-test-1-pistas-bateria

mcrackins

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2015, 02:31:57 AM »
If you're just doing rough demo stuff via the 2 channel stereo, Presonus and Focusrite have good reps for audio interfaces.

http://www.amazon.com/Presonus-AudioBox-22VSL-24-Bit-Interface/dp/B005G6CZRE/ref=sr_1_3?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1427264556&sr=1-3&keywords=presonus

http://www.amazon.com/Focusrite-Scarlett-2i4-USB-Interface/dp/B009B15N0Q/ref=sr_1_3?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1427264664&sr=1-3&keywords=focusrite+scarlett+2i2

I'm using an Focusrite 18i8 as I wanted to go individual outs for all 8 drums/cymbals.

Here's what that sounds like, this isn't mixed though. Using a hybrid of 3 Steve Slate Drum VST's

https://soundcloud.com/dirtbag-republic/2box-ssd-4-sample
« Last Edit: March 25, 2015, 06:25:34 AM by mcrackins »

boekhour

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2015, 09:58:39 AM »
Here a little one take recording we made a few years ago...  with a multitrack korg. I thought I had it connected with a 6 channel output, afterward mixed on the korg:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOeIhmYGB9w

mvdput

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2018, 11:34:55 AM »
Have a look. This is done with the Lexicon, no processing, FX or any other than the output stereo from 2box


https://soundcloud.com/miguel-del-rey/gritare-test-1-pistas-bateria

@Makoki This sounds good. Which software are you using to record?

p929

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
  • 2box DI5 S/N 00927
    • View Profile
Re: Recording 2box at home
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2018, 02:13:21 AM »
If you haven't bought Cubase yet, I'd recommend to use Reaper, it costes only 60 bucks, and it's great, and free updates like forever (I bought it in 2011 and still covered). And the rest 500 bucks use them to buy a nice mixer, I'm using an old firewire m-audio with 8 channels...just enough for the DI5