unofficial 2box forum

2Box Drumit 5 Forum => General 2Box Drumit 3 Forum => Topic started by: nohumanape on March 20, 2019, 04:40:21 AM

Title: How is latency on DrumIt3, compared to running a VST via computer?
Post by: nohumanape on March 20, 2019, 04:40:21 AM
So I finally got my new eDrums running Addictive Drums 2 on my PC. And for the most part, it feels pretty darn good. Could be better, but very playable. (Biggest issue at the moment is the VH-11. Isn't always super smooth to open).

So should I expect similar latency if I rip and load kits from AD2 onto the DrumIt3? Or will it be better?
Title: Re: How is latency on DrumIt3, compared to running a VST via computer?
Post by: ANGR77 on March 20, 2019, 05:08:42 AM
Hi!

It will be better. (And less complex) but you won’t get all sound flexibility found directly in AD2.

A hint to make Vh-11 more smooth in AD2 ... there is a small “arrow” sign found in AD2 which brings up a drop down list with two hh choices. (Easy to miss) It is found in and the mapping window on the hi-hat settings. This controls the openness parameter...if it is open at midi pedal level 90 or 128...try this! You have also the pedal sensitivity slider...a lower value will make hh pedal more smooth.

Best regards

Anders / www.zourman.com
Title: Re: How is latency on DrumIt3, compared to running a VST via computer?
Post by: nohumanape on March 20, 2019, 05:13:34 AM
Hi!

It will be better. (And less complex) but you won’t get all sound flexibility found directly in AD2.

A hint to make Vh-11 more smooth in AD2 ... there is a small “arrow” sign found in AD2 which brings up a drop down list with two hh choices. (Easy to miss) It is found in and the mapping window on the hi-hat settings. This controls the openness parameter...if it is open at midi pedal level 90 or 128...try this! You have also the pedal sensitivity slider...a lower value will make hh pedal more smooth.

Best regards

Anders / www.zourman.com
Wow! Thank you for that tip! I'll give it a shot tomorrow. And I'll still be tinkering with AD2 on my computer, but I just want to pull about 3-5 of my favorite presets from each ADpack, for quick sessions on the kit. Because right now, I'm having to load up the computer, launch Pro Tools and then open a session where I can use AD2 as an Instrument track. And since my computer isn't right next to me, I have to get up every time I change a kit or preset. Heh. Not super convenient--but I'm still loving AD2!.

THANKS!
Title: Re: How is latency on DrumIt3, compared to running a VST via computer?
Post by: ANGR77 on March 20, 2019, 08:54:51 PM
Good to hear!

I hope you have seen that you can use AD2 as a stand-alone application (no need for pro-tools etc) if you just are going to use AD2 and play drums! Full midi support and ASIO multichannel audio support directly in the standalone app.

I have used AD2 on stage with 8 channels out...worked great! (Even used the internal sequencer found in AD2 on stage)

I am big fan of AD2...been using it since ver 1...and have done a lot of beta testing for XLN through the years.

Best regards

Anders / www.zourman.com
Title: Re: How is latency on DrumIt3, compared to running a VST via computer?
Post by: Krillo on March 25, 2019, 06:28:58 PM
I made a few measurements on this, you can find them here on the forum.