unofficial 2box forum

2Box Drumit 5 Forum => General 2Box Drumit 3 Forum => Topic started by: nohumanape on January 12, 2019, 01:03:15 AM

Title: Is The DrumIt 3 Capable Of Position Sensing (Or Some Form Of It)?
Post by: nohumanape on January 12, 2019, 01:03:15 AM
I'm new to all of this. In my research I've only seen it really advertised from Roland. But given the seemingly open nature of the DrumIt 3, with a compatible pad, is position sensing possible? Or is it only something you can do with a Roland Module, Roland supplied samples and a Roland pad?
Title: Re: Is The DrumIt 3 Capable Of Position Sensing (Or Some Form Of It)?
Post by: ANGR77 on January 12, 2019, 07:15:31 AM
Yes, thats right. The Drumit 3 and 5 dont support PS. The reason is that Roland have been controlling the patent for decades... but I think the patent is expiring this year.

Best Regards

Anders / www.zourman.com
Title: Re: Is The DrumIt 3 Capable Of Position Sensing (Or Some Form Of It)?
Post by: Gr00veg0d on January 12, 2019, 10:39:13 AM
Be so nice if 2box could add this as a software update  :)
Title: Re: Is The DrumIt 3 Capable Of Position Sensing (Or Some Form Of It)?
Post by: ANGR77 on January 12, 2019, 11:41:22 AM
Hi!

I think the function of PS could be incorporated in a easy way...(to get the triggers to react on the position hit on the drum) but the hard part is that you need to redo all sounds. It is like adding a new dimension to the sounds. First you need to sample the drum (could be up to 128 velocity layers) and the you need to add up to 128 position layers of sound. In the best of world you need 16384 hits of samples to create on drum...but not even Roland have this or are even close in their PS solutions.

Best regards

Anders / www.zourman.com
Title: Re: Is The DrumIt 3 Capable Of Position Sensing (Or Some Form Of It)?
Post by: welshsteve on January 12, 2019, 11:46:34 AM
Ddrum 3 and 4 did this very well, and not just on snare. They also did pressure sense too. Bending/dampening of sounds. It was really cool to mess about with. I don't know how they (2box) don't have a patent themselves as they were the first to incorporate it in to a single pad. I think Simmons did it also with the SDX but that was because the pads were multi-zoned.
Personally, I don't think it's a major thing but quite a few seems to really want this feature.
Title: Re: Is The DrumIt 3 Capable Of Position Sensing (Or Some Form Of It)?
Post by: nohumanape on January 12, 2019, 04:11:24 PM
Hi!

I think the function of PS could be incorporated in a easy way...(to get the triggers to react on the position hit on the drum) but the hard part is that you need to redo all sounds. It is like adding a new dimension to the sounds. First you need to sample the drum (could be up to 128 velocity layers) and the you need to add up to 128 position layers of sound. In the best of world you need 16384 hits of samples to create on drum...but not even Roland have this or are even close in their PS solutions.

Best regards

Anders / www.zourman.com
It would be a really cool addition to the software, at least. For someone who would like to record their own sounds, in some cases with snares and various ride cymbals, it would be great if the software went further into zones around the pad/instrument. So when recording you just made sure to do you velocity recording within those areas.

Either way, not a huge deal. Just curious.

Thanks