Author Topic: Daisy chaining DrumIt3 with Roland Module?  (Read 137 times)

nohumanape

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Daisy chaining DrumIt3 with Roland Module?
« on: March 15, 2019, 05:01:42 PM »
So I have a DrumIt3 and was wondering about linking it up to a TD-17 or TD-30 in the future. I'd I were to link up a TD-17, could I access the features of the TD-17, while utilizing the pad inputs on the DrumIt3?

Sorry, I'm new to all of this. I just know that you can link multiple Modules together. Just don't fully understand all the ins and outs.

edtc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
  • Karma: 51
  • 2-Box S/N 01155
    • View Profile
Re: Daisy chaining DrumIt3 with Roland Module?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2019, 06:31:36 PM »
you cant trigger the TD17 via MIDI with your Drumit3 as the TD17 has no physical MIDI input ...

It could be possible by adding a computer +midi interface to route the MIDI out of the Drumit module to the USB/MIDI in of the roland one , but why would someone do this ?

nohumanape

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Daisy chaining DrumIt3 with Roland Module?
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2019, 06:53:14 PM »
you cant trigger the TD17 via MIDI with your Drumit3 as the TD17 has no physical MIDI input ...

It could be possible by adding a computer +midi interface to route the MIDI out of the Drumit module to the USB/MIDI in of the roland one , but why would someone do this ?
Guess that answers that. How about a TD-30?

edtc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
  • Karma: 51
  • 2-Box S/N 01155
    • View Profile
Re: Daisy chaining DrumIt3 with Roland Module?
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2019, 07:03:24 PM »
it has a midi in so yes ... but is there any advantage in doing this ? Could you explain ?

nohumanape

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Daisy chaining DrumIt3 with Roland Module?
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2019, 07:25:28 PM »
it has a midi in so yes ... but is there any advantage in doing this ? Could you explain ?
It would be to easily have access to the module's sounds, settings, loops and learning features--without having to regularily change out the pads between two Modules.

Right now, I have a DrumIt3 and the TD-20 Module that came with my kit. The TD-20 sounds terrible compared to the DrumIt3, but it's so much more user friendly and easy to dive into for a quick practice.