News:

2box forum: accident-free since the last one.

Main Menu

Cymbal bell triggering problem

Started by tim1987, October 24, 2011, 02:56:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tim1987

I posted about this ages ago but my major issue with the drum it 5 is the cymbals. They are driving me up the wall!

I like to practise jazz. This involves a lot of cymbal playing. If I play quarter notes for a few minutes on the main ride area every now and again or sometimes successively the bell triggers.

Does anyone else have this problem? I posted this to the distributor who posted it back to say he had no problems but I don't believe it because it's doing the same thing- even in OS 1.20 which I hoped would have improved it.

Please help! Any suggestions? The curve has been advised by the distributor as neg1, gain at 40, and threshold at -36 but the same old problem arises. I would have thought after 2 years that 2box would have finally got it sorted.

Many thanks

edtc

hi

if you get bell sounds when you expect bows , it s likely because you hit a bit too hard sometimes ...
Bell is velocity dependant , using only one sensor for bow and bell , so it s normal that if you pass the treshold , you ll get a bell sound ...

so maybe , the idea would be to lower the gain a lot , and use a normal curve ...

there is a section in the 1.20 manual update that explains how to optimize the cymbal triggering ...

if you follow what they say , i m sure it will be ok ...

supermonster

Hi Tim

I had also several issues with the cymbals playing it as ride and did the following: